Local Government Elections

Local Government Elections

The 2024 NSW local government elections will take place on Saturday 14 September.

The NSW Electoral Commission (NSWEC) administers the election on behalf of a majority of councils across NSW, including Richmond Valley Council.

For more information visit the NSWEC website, call 1300 135 736 for enrolment, voting and general enquiries or 1300 022 011 for political party, candidate enquiries, third party campaigner and political donor enquiries.

Elections for Richmond Valley Councillors

Richmond Valley Council is governed by 7 councillors elected to represent the whole local government area – no wards or divisions exist.   The mayor is popularly elected directly by voters.  This method allows constituents to directly choose their mayor through democratic election, via a separate ballot paper.

Both the mayor and councillors are elected for a 4-year term of office, with the next NSW local government election due to be held on Saturday 14 September.  In 2021 Councillors were elected for a shorter term due to the impacts of COVID-19.

Non-residential roll

If you live outside the Richmond Valley local government area but own rateable property in the area, you are entitled to vote in local government elections. However, it is not compulsory to do so.

Similarly, eligible occupiers and ratepaying lessees are also entitled to vote in council elections. Find out who is eligible to be on a non-residential roll.

Unlike the residential roll, the non-residential roll is maintained by individual councils, not by the NSW Electoral Commission.

Those interested in registering on the non-residential roll must ensure their details are received by the General Manager prior to 6pm, Monday 5 August.  Links to the forms are provided below:

Have Your Say...

Quick Contact

"*" indicates required fields

Search Council's website

Type your search query here to find relevant pages on the Richmond Valley Council site.